Revelation and Genesis

I’ve been a blogger for a very long time – since 2003, I guess, although it seems longer, so maybe I’m forgetting some protoblogging experience I had before starting my much-loved Xanga. After growing out of Xanga, I ended up using WordPress and have had a handful of blogs here: professional, publication-oriented, and personal. I like having blogs.

I started blogging because of my creative writing classes in college. I’d given up on ever being able to maintain a physical journal, but was urged to journal by my professors. I wondered if having an audience, however small, would motivate me to keep writing, and took my journaling online. Guess THAT worked, huh?

(The fact that I apparently have blogger ADD is, perhaps, a discussion for another day. If I remember correctly, I’ve had a grand total of fifteen blogs…)

The thing is, I liked writing and I liked having people I knew read my writing. So when I moved to WordPress, which didn’t require a membership to read/comment, I gave the URL to family members and everyone else I knew well enough to bother.

what does a new blog smell like?Not too long ago, a friend of mine emailed me to let me know that she had started a new blog – not only for the delicious feeling of new-ness I know so well, but so that she could give the URL only to a certain group of people and have a clean slate in terms of readership. As I began reading, a light began to flicker above my head: I wasn’t entirely happy in my blogging, and maybe this was why. I couldn’t be free to write what I wanted to write. So much that I needed to process and vent got censored from the blogging table, because I didn’t want to share it with so-and-so or risk offending so-and-so.

For the first time ever, I realized I didn’t just want that new blog scent – I NEEDED a blank slate.

I needed to be able to write about family drama without wondering what my family would think when they read.

I needed to be able to talk about the things weighing on my heart without trying to remember which of my coworkers might see it.

I needed to remember who I was – and be me. I wanted to be myself again.

And so here we are. Welcome to the corner of Rosemary and Cameron. There’s some fairly comfortable patio chairs over there, and a great little coffee shop just across the street – they have terrific macaroons, even for someone like myself who doesn’t particularly care for macaroons. If you hang out long enough, something interesting is sure to come by.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 21:55:48

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Some are baffled, but that one is not - that one knows me.
