Affirmation

I am independent, although less so than I’d like to think. I like being outdoors. I like being on top of mountains and underneath trees. I like driving the boat like a madwoman. I like pretty things that look like spiders, goofy hats, and things that have wings. I’ve never grown out of loving horses. I love books. I would rather wear sandals than shoes. I like classical music, Latin jazz, didgeridoo, instrumental movie soundtracks, Rob Thomas, Pink Floyd, Elton John, and Melissa Etheridge. I like Rusted Root, too, and I like the Black Eyed Peas and some Kanye. I like to sing along to the radio. I like to dance along to the radio if I think no one can see. I like to write and I’m good at it. I still like to snuggle up with a pastel-colored afghan. I’m picky about socks but not about my hair. I’m a little bit goth. I’m a lot geek. I would rather face things head-on with a devil-take-all smile than to turn my back and let hell overtake me. I like to be in control except in matters of romance. I am a load of contradictions. I want to ride horses. I want to see a bull moose in the wild. I want to be a better photographer. I want to be a more diligent writer. I want to be a tidier housekeeper. I want to be a mom. I want to plant bulbs and have daylilies fill my yard every year. I want to learn to play guitar, or maybe fiddle, or maybe drumset, or definitely jazz piano. My blood runs cold and electric when I hear a marching band. I agree with Harry Dresden: people suck, but persons are worthwhile. I’m not good at being friends, but I’ll be your most loyal defender. I believe in right and wrong and many shades in between. I believe in glory in victory and in defeat and in just trying. I have a hero complex. I could cut pictures out of magazines for days on end. I am a spiritual, happy, deep-breathing, loud-clapping, quiet-sitting person. I am a Wolf, but only in some ways. I believe in something like magic and something like ghosts. I believe in myself. I believe that everything is going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

Some are baffled, but that one is not - that one knows me.
