An Announcement

Drumroll please

I have an announcement to make.

I, Nameless Author of Rosemary & Cameron,

AM NOT A SOPHISTICATED PERSON.

And I’m okay with that.

I’m okay with preferring a bright pink trench coat to a gray one, or a lime green jacket to a black one.

I’m okay with wearing athletic sandals instead of heels.

I’m okay with keeping my hair in a style that requires nothing but a brushing and a hairclip to prepare it, and with wearing makeup that doesn’t require scrubbing to remove.

I’m okay with reading books that my English major friends sneered at, and with listening to music that my orchestrally-talented sister finds stupid.

I’m okay with having stuffed animals on my dashboard and Wolverine toys on my desk.

I’m okay with liking recycled grocery bags better than attache cases, and with preferring a lemon yellow purse to brown leather.

I can dress like the others if I want. I can put on heels and pressed gray trousers and a black leather coat and a smart little purse if I want. I can wield a bottle of hairspray as well as the next girl. I can read Hemingway and Plath and Rand other books of the approved canon. (Sorry, can’t bring myself to imagine reading Rand. Even I have my limits.)

But I can do something they can’t. I can also dress in striped knee socks and hugely-floraled broom skirts and boys’ hoodies with thumb holes in the cuffs. I can also wear silicone wolf fangs and a furry hat, or a blue wig and a superman cape. I can paint my toenails hot pink or purple or lime green or black or cherry red or Bronco blue. I can drive to orchestra rehearsal – because while not orchestrally-talented, I hold my own – while rocking out to Usher and Flo Rida and Kanye and the Eagles and Hillfolk Noir and Third Eye Blind and Rockapella. I can stand up in front of an audience and make a fool of myself with a grin on my face.

Why? Because I’m not sophisticated, and I don’t care what you think, because I am too damned busy having a good time and living my own damned life.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Furiously Happy « Rosemary & Cameron
  2. Lusty Reader
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 18:16:46

    hi, i cant tell you how much i like this post! just stumbled across you today. im envious of your ability to pull off broom skirts and striped socks, but am right there with on boycotting Rand but enjoying my “unsophiscated” reading!

    own it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Some are baffled, but that one is not - that one knows me.
